Customers can create their own SFTP user via the Data menu; enabling the secure transfer (‘push’) of files to the One Model SFTP server for a File Data Source.

Navigate to SFTP Users

Go to Data > Sources:

Click on the “SFTP Users” button on any File data source:

Note: this only applies to File Data Sources, as only these support data uploaded to the One Model hosted SFTP. SFTP Data Sources are for externally supported SFTP servers (such as a vendor), and One Model cannot maintain SFTP Users on these servers.

Clicking on the button in any row will take you to the same popup window:

Create a new User

Click the + icon in the window, and enter a username and password to create the credential for connecting to the SFTP server. You can also use the Key button to automatically generate a password

The rules for username are:

  • Username must start with the customer identifier (and this is provided for you)

  • Username must be unique

  • Username must not have a slash

  • Username must be completely lower-case

The rules for password are:

  • Passwords must be at least 24 characters

  • Passwords must have at least one non letter or digit character

  • Passwords must have at least one digit ('0'-'9')

  • Passwords must have at least one uppercase ('A'-'Z')

When complete, click the Save icon and the SFTP user is ready.

Editing an existing SFTP User

To Edit an existing SFTP User, select the Edit button in the main SFTP Users panel:

This will show an Edit User pane, like this:

This pane can be used to enter a new Key or Password for the user if the existing password has been lost, or needs to be updated. The same rules apply as for creating users, and here as well a password can be generated using the Key icon.

If the password is updated, any system sending data to One Model will need the new password. For Security reasons, we do not allow the existing password to be retrieved.

Simply click the Save icon to persist the change.

Deleting an SFTP User

To delete an existing SFTP User, simply use the Delete icon:

Any system that was using this SFTP User to upload data to One Model will now need to use a different SFTP User to upload that data.

Did this answer your question?