How to Replace Storyboard Contents

Using Storyboards .

The Replace Storyboard Contents feature is available in the Storyboard Settings tab of a Storyboard and allows Storyboard designers and Admins (with the appropriate permission) to replace the tiles, tile contents, and the Storyboard filter template without changing the Storyboard ID.  The Storyboard ID is an embedded part of each Storyboard’s unique web address (URL) and this is used as part of the Storyboard embedding feature.  Note; that this feature does not apply to the homepage Storyboard.

Why is this important?

If you are an Admin or Storyboard designer of a large Organization with multiple users and viewers of Storyboards who bookmark or save the URL of each Storyboard, this feature enables you to make edits or changes and overwrite the existing Storyboard contents without altering the URL or breaking any other locations (e.g. SharePoint) that has a specific Storyboard embedded. In practical terms, this means that you can make changes seamlessly without disruption or interference with Storyboard users.

How it works

The first step is to enable the Storyboard Administrator permission that activates the Replace Storyboard Contents feature. The second step is to make a copy of the Storyboard you want to change or update and start experimenting with different metrics and dimensions, styles of data visualization and previewing different tiles in your Storyboard until you’re ready to replace the original. 

The Replace Storyboard Contents feature will; 

Make changes to;

  • Storyboard filter template,
  • Storyboard tiles and their contents.

NOT change the following;

  • Storyboard settings
  • Individual saved filter sets
  • Sharing permissions
  • Storyboard URL used for bookmarks and embedding

 

PART ONE: Enable the permission

To enable the Replace Storyboard Contents feature, the Storyboard Administrator permission must be selected.

Go to the Admin tab.

 

 

Then select;

  1. Application Access Roles
  2. Select the link for the relevant role - Permissions
  3. Check Storyboard Administrator
  4. Click Update Permissions

The Replace Storyboard Contents feature will be activated in the Storyboard Settings tab where you will see the Replace button in the menu, as shown below. 


 

PART TWO: Using Replace Storyboard Contents

Using the Replace Storyboard Contents feature assumes you already have a source Storyboard from which to copy all the content from. The most common workflow for this feature will be to take a copy of a Storyboard that you have in production to make changes without disrupting end users, and then when you are happy with the changes in your copy, replace the production version. 

The steps are;

Step 1: Copy a Storyboard

If you don't already have a Storyboard to edit, start by making a copy of your original Storyboard.

  1. Go to the Storyboard tab and click to open the Storyboard Library.

  1. Find the Storyboard you want to copy, and click on the three dots at the end of the row to open the Settings menu.

  1. Click Copy - in this menu, you can rename the copy, add or edit the description.

  1. Click Copy to save to Unshared Storyboards in the Storyboard Library.

Step 2: Edit your Storyboard

Make your changes and edits to the copied Storyboard. This is where you can try a new layout, test different metrics, sample different types of data visualizations, and more.

  1. Go to the Storyboard tab and click to open the Storyboard Library.
  2. Find the Storyboard you want to edit.
  3. Click to open.
  4. Click the pencil button at the top right of the Storyboard navigation bar to enter Modify Mode.

  1. Make your changes.
  2. Click Save to keep your changes or Leave without Saving to discard.

Learn more about Customizing your Storyboards.

Step 3: Replace Storyboard Contents

To replace Storyboard Contents;

  1. Open the Storyboard that you want to overwrite (replace content) without changing the URL.
  2. Click the three dots at the top right to open the Storyboard Settings tab.
  3. Click Replace at the top right. 

  1. From the dropdown menu, select the Storyboard you want to use to replace Storyboard contents. I.e. the Storyboard you copied and edited in the previous steps. 
  2. Checking the box at the bottom will create a backup copy of the original storyboard in ‘Unshared Storyboards’ category on save. This is useful just in case there have been changes between versions, but the backup copy will have a new URL.
  3. Click Replace.

  1. And you’re done!

Was this article helpful?

0 out of 0 found this helpful

Comments

0 comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.